Yavapai College, a school that teaches residential building technology, won EnergyValue Builder of the Year honors for a 1,207 s.f. energy miser built in Chino, Arizona. The award was announced in a ceremony at the Flamingo Hotel the night before the International Builders Show opened.

The contest judges were impressed with a submittal that went "above and beyond in almost every aspect of design and construction." The home design process started with a thorough-going site analysis that resulted in using different glazing on south-facing windows. Construction details were extensively inspected throughout construction.

The EnergyValue Housing Awards (EVHA) honor builders who voluntarily incorporate energy efficiency into all aspects of new-home construction. The program is supported by the Department of Energy through its Building America program. The NAHB Research Center, NAHB itself, and the National Renewable Energy Laboratory serve as partners. 

The awards program, which will be expanded to include remodeling next year, challenges builders to elevate standards for energy-efficient construction, provides educational opportunities for home builders, and fosters the adoption of energy-efficiency principles.

Finalists were selected from three climate regions (cold, moderate, hot) and five project categories (affordable, custom/demonstration, factory-built, multifamily, production).

Gold and silver awards were given out in the ceremony on Monday night. The gold winners were Yavapai College; Artistic Homes, Albuquerque, N.M.:Cresswell & Co., Pottstown, Pa.; Ferrier Custom Homes, Fort Worth, Texas; Habitat for Humanity Portland/MetroEast, Portland, Ore.; Nelson Construction, Farmington, Conn.; and Sierra Homes, Fredericksburg, Texas;

The silver winners were Bridgewater Innovative Builders, Whitefish, Mont.; GreenCraft Builders, Lewisville, Texas; CVH, dba Clifton View Homes, Coupeville, Wash.; Imagine Homes, San Antonio; Sustainable Fellwood/Melaver, Savannah, Ga.; Gold Medallion Homes, Taylorsville, Utah; Raymar Homes, Hudsonville, Mich.; Community Housing Partners, Christianburg, Va.; Veridian Homes, Madison, Wis.; Fireside Home Construction, Dexter, Mich.; Kurowski Development Co., Littleton, Colo.; Chandler Design-Build, Mebane, N.C.; and New World Home, New York.

Judges for the 2010 competition included: Barb Yankie, Homes +, ; Joe Gregory, Bob Ward Cos.; David Hales, Washington State University Extension Energy Program; Lee Magnusson, NREL; Margo Thompson, Lockheed Martin; Craig Conner, energy and green building consultant; Peter Pfeiffer, Barley + Pfeiffer Architects; Steve Hale, CGP, Hale and Sun Construction; Dr. Sydney Roberts, Southface Energy Institute; and Jordon Goldman, ZeroEnergy Design.

Click here to see more detail on the winners.