Gables Residential executive vice president and chief operating officer Susan M. Ansel was named the 2010 Executive of the Year by MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE magazine at the annual MFE Awards ceremony in Las Vegas on Oct. 5. Ansel was one of two individual honors and more than 40 awards presented at the event, which recognizes exceptional people, projects, and programs across 17 categories.

Ansel was honored for successfully steering Atlanta-based Gables Residential through the recession. Despite losing millions in development revenue after the economy collapsed in 2008, Ansel relied on her level-headed, calm leadership style to focus the company on fundamentals and operations, helping it outperform some of its more wellcapitalized competitors. By August 2010, Gables’ NOI was up 5.5 percent from the beginning of the year on its stabilized properties. Today, the 16,000-unit national portfolio is 93.9 percent occupied.

“Sue Ansel is one of the smartest, capable, and most gracious women in the multifamily industry today,” said Shabnam Mogharabi, editor-in-chief of MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE magazine. “She is held in incredibly high regard by her peers, and it’s no wonder—instead of focusing on her own accomplishments, she prefers to credit her team, company, and employees for her achievements.”

Additionally, The Bainbridge Cos.’ vice president of marketing Jared Miller was named MFE’s first-ever Rising Star of the Year, awarded to an industry up-and-comer. Since being hired in 2007, Miller has overhauled the Wellington, Fla.- based real estate firm’s marketing platform and strategies, focusing on the web and social media. His efforts helped reduce marketing costs by upwards of 50 percent and kept occupancy rates flat during the recession.

The editors of MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE magazine also unveiled the fourth annual Editors’ Choice Award, which recognizes a project that is “best in show.” That honor went to La Belle at Hollywood Tower, a low-rise apartment community in Los Angeles developed by Alliance Residential Co. The innovative project also received the Grand Award for Project of the Year: Low-Rise.

Other multiple winners included AvalonBay Communities, The Bainbridge Cos., The Bozzuto Group, BRIDGE Housing Corp., The Domain Cos., FortGroup Development Corp./Suite USA, Jonathan Rose Cos., JPH Architecture/Urban Design, KTGY Group, and Sequoia Equities.

This year’s winners were chosen by a group comprised of the magazine’s editors and six industry judges: Rohit Anand, principal of CAX in Vienna, Va.; Greg Bonifield, partner of Woodfield Investments in Ashburn, Va.; Eileen Lee, vice president of environment at the National Multi Housing Council in Washington, D.C.; Christina Steeg, senior vice president of marketing and training at Simpson Housing in Denver; Stephanie Williams, vice president of new business development at Bozzuto Management Co. in Greenbelt, Md.; and Dave Woodward, CEO and managing partner of The Laramar Group in Greenwood Village, Colo.

“In an environment where breaking ground still seems almost unachievable, the 2010 winners demonstrate the tenacity and vision that are required to keep the future of multifamily development bright,” Mogharabi said. “We were truly impressed by the caliber of the projects and designs we saw this year.”

For more information on Executive of the Year Susan M. Ansel and Rising Star of the Year Jared Miller, please see the October 2010 issue of MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE, which is also available online at MultifamilyExecutive.com. All other winners can be seen in the pages of the November 2010 issue of MFE. A complete list of winners from the 2010 MFE Awards is below.

Special Recognitions & Individual Honorees

Executive of the Year – Susan M. Ansel, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Gables Residential For more information: Contact Lynette Hegeman at 404-923-5585 or LHegeman@gables.com

Rising Star of the Year – Jared Miller, Vice President of Marketing, The Bainbridge Cos. For more information: Contact Jared Miller at 561-333-3669 or jmiller@bainbridgere.com

Editors’ Choice Award – La Belle at Hollywood Tower, Los Angeles, Alliance Residential Co. For more information: Contact Andrea Berry-Murphy at 602-778-2805 or amurphy@allresco.com

Grand Award Winners

Project of the Year: High-Rise – Avalon Towers Bellevue, Bellevue, Wash., AvalonBay Communities For more information: Contact Christine Dozois at 703-317-4699 or cdozois@avalonbay.com

Project of the Year: Mid-Rise – Park & Market North Hills, Raleigh, N.C., Drucker & Falk For more information: Contact Esther Bonardi at 919-846-7300 or ebonardi@druckerandfalk.com

Project of the Year: Low-Rise – La Belle at Hollywood Tower, Los Angeles, Alliance Residential Co. For more information: Contact Andrea Berry-Murphy at 602-778-2805 or amurphy@allresco.com

Project of the Year: Affordable – Mission Walk, San Francisco, BRIDGE Housing Corp. For more information: Contact Flora Cortez at 415-989-1111 or fcortez@bridgehousing.com

Project of the Year: Mixed-Income – The St. Aidan, Brookline, Mass., Planning Office for Urban Affairs For more information: Contact Lisa Alberghini at 617-350-8885 or lba@poua.org

Project of the Year: Student – The Retreat at Lake Tamaha, Tuscaloosa, Ala., Landmark Properties For more information: Contact Katie Wood at 706-543-1910 or katie@Landmark-Properties.com

Project of the Year: Senior – Ocean Breeze Apartments, Santa Monica, Calif., Highridge Costa Housing Partners For more information: Contact Martha Lennig at 424-258-2806 or martha.lennig@housingpartners.com

Project of the Year: Military – Joint Base Andrews, Andrews Air Force Base, Md., Clark Realty Capital For more information: Contact Stephanie Amateis at 703-294-4606 or Steph.Amateis@clarkrealty.com

Project of the Year: Best Reuse of Land – Los Vientos, San Diego, AMCAL Multi-Housing and Las Palmas Foundation For more information: Contact Jay Ross at 818-706-0694, ext. 128 or Jay@AmcalHousing.com

Project of the Year: Adaptive Reuse – Park Lane at Sea View, Staten Island, N.Y., The Domain Cos. For more information: Contact Lauren Crowell at 212-991-0001, ext. 106 or lcrowell@thedomaincos.com

Project of the Year: Apartment Renovation – The Vistas at Saddle Rock Apartment Homes, Aurora, Colo., The Bascom Group For more information: Contact Michelle Khuu at 949-955-0888, ext. 27 or mkhuu@bascomgroup.com

Project of the Year: Green – Ironhorse at Central Station, Oakland, Calif., BRIDGE Housing Corp. For more information: Contact Flora Cortez at 415-989-1111 or fcortez@bridgehousing.com

Marketing and Advertising – Wave’s Z Islander, Bryan, Texas, SuiteUSA For more information: Contact Mariah Mouro at 904-584-1600, ext. 1301 or mariahmouro@mac.com

Best Use of Technology – Augmented Reality, company-wide, UDR For more information: Contact Steve Taraborelli at 720-283-2461 or staraborelli@udr.com

Community Service – Giving Back, company-wide, Southern Management Corp. For more information: Contact Be-Be Hernández at 703-902-9484 or bebe@smcmail.com

Merit Award Winners

Project of the Year: High-Rise, Merit – Acoma, Denver, PageSoutherlandPage For more information: Contact Nancy Fleshman at 713-871-8484 or nfleshman@pspaec.com

Project of the Year: High-Rise, Merit – The Millennium at Metropolitan Park, Arlington, Va., KETTLER For more information: Contact Laurel Howell at 703-226-6039 or lhowell@kettler.com

Project of the Year: Mid-Rise, Merit – 555 YVR, Walnut Creek, Calif., KTGY Group For more information: Contact Lara McKissick at 949-797-8398 or lmckissick@ktgy.com

Project of the Year: Mid-Rise, Merit – Alexan Carlyle, Alexandria, Va., Trammell Crow Residential and CAX, a KTGY Co. For more information: Contact Lara McKissick at 949-797-8398 or lmckissick@ktgy.com

Project of the Year: Low-Rise, Merit – Avalon Irvine, Irvine, Calif., AvalonBay Communities For more information: Contact Christine Dozois at 703-317-4699 or cdozois@avalonbay.com

Project of the Year: Low-Rise, Merit – Austin Ranch Phase V, The Colony, Texas, JHP Architecture/Urban Design For more information: Contact Kimberly Dresdner at 214-363-5687 or kdresdner@jhparch.com

Project of the Year: Affordable, Merit – Diamond Apartment Homes, Anaheim, Calif., Jamboree For more information: Contact Andrea Hickman at 949-263-8676, ext. 118 or ahickman@jamboreehousing.com

Project of the Year: Affordable, Merit – Metro Green Apartments, Stamford, Conn., Jonathan Rose Cos. For more information: Contact Caroline Vary at 203-588-1818 or caroline@rosecompanies.com

Project of the Year: Mixed-Income, Merit – Seigle Point, Charlotte, N.C., Grubb Properties, Charlotte Housing Authority, and TCG Development Services For more information: Contact David Klepser at 704-372-5616 or dklepser@grubbproperties.com

Project of the Year: Mixed-Income, Merit – Walnut Square Apartments, New Orleans, The NHP Foundation For more information: Contact Thomas Vaccaro at 202-312-2507 or tvaccaro@nhpfoundation.org

Project of the Year: Student, Merit – Ringling College of Art & Design – Housing Building, Sarasota, Fla., Lawson Group Architects For more information: Contact Fernando Ramirez at 941-366-4006 or fernando@lawsongroup.net

Project of the Year: Student, Merit – Wave’s Z Islander, Bryan, Texas, FortGroup Development Corp. For more information: Contact Mariah Mouro at 904-584-1600, ext. 1301 or mariahmouro@mac.com

Project of the Year: Senior, Merit – The Retreat at Dorsey Manor, Marietta, Ga., JHP Architecture/Urban Design For more information: Contact Clara Trejos-Comora at 904-241-0700 or CTComora@columbiares.com

Project of the Year: Senior, Merit – Jericho Residences, Landover, Md., Jericho Senior Living, Potomac Real Estate Co., and Bozzuto Development Co. For more information: Contact Lauren McDonald at 301-623-1579 or lmcdonald@bozzuto.com

Project of the Year: Military, Merit – Fort Drum Mountain Community Homes, Fort Drum, N.Y., Fort Drum Mountain Community Homes For more information: Contact Joseph E. McLaughlin at 315-955-6804 or joseph.mclaughlin@fdmch.com

Project of the Year: Adaptive Reuse, Merit – Royalton, Miami, Carlisle Development Group and Carrfour Supportive Housing For more information: Contact Amber Green at 305-357-4710 or agreen@carlisledevelopmentgroup.com

Project of the Year: Adaptive Reuse, Merit – TwentyOne01 on Market, Denver, Alliance Residential Co. For more information: Contact Andrea Berry-Murphy at 602-778-2805 or amurphy@allresco.com

Project of the Year: Apartment Renovation, Merit – Broadstone Hollywood Tower, Los Angeles, Alliance Residential Co. For more information: Contact Andrea Berry-Murphy at 602-778-2805 or amurphy@allresco.com

Project of the Year: Apartment Renovation, Merit – The Wellington, Arlington, Va., The Bainbridge Cos. For more information: Contact Jared Miller at 561-333-3669 or jmiller@bainbridgere.com

Project of the Year: Green, Merit – Metro Green Apartments, Stamford, Conn., Jonathan Rose Cos. For more information: Contact Caroline Vary at 203-588-1818 or caroline@rosecompanies.com

Project of the Year: Green, Merit – Circle at South End, Charlotte, N.C., Crescent Resources For more information: Contact Cheri Loy at 980-321-6233 or CLLoy@crescent-resources.com

Marketing and Advertising, Merit – Live Zensationally, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., The Altman Cos. For more information: Contact Siobhan Tierney at 561-237-1316 or stierney@altmancos.com

Marketing and Advertising, Merit – Sequoia Delivers!, company-wide, Sequoia Equities For more information: Contact Lisa Trapp at 925-945-0900 or LTrapp@sequoiaequities.com

Best Use of Technology, Merit – Voice over Private Internet (VoPI) Solution, company-wide, The Bozzuto Group For more information: Contact John Martin at 301-446-2276 or jmartin@bozzuto.com

Best Use of Technology, Merit – Hand Scanner, company-wide, The Connor Group For more information: Contact Patrick Rini at 937-434-3095 or prini@theconnorgrp.com

Community Service, Merit – Sequoia: Sharing the Experience, company-wide, Sequoia Equities For more information: Contact Lisa Trapp at 925-945-0900 or LTrapp@sequoiaequities.com

Community Service, Merit – New Orleans Redevelopment Efforts, New Orleans, The Domain Cos. For more information: Contact Lauren Crowell at 212-991-0001, ext. 106 or lcrowell@thedomaincos.com