Dave Woodward, CEO and Managing Partner of Laramar Communities, was named Executive of the Year at the 2007 MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE Awards gala in Las Vegas.

Woodward was recognized for his outstanding leadership at the Denver, Colo.-based firm. "Dave's incredible talent and infectious enthusiasm has allowed him to take Laramar to new heights. We are thrilled to present him with this award," said Shabnam Mogharabi, editor of MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE magazine.

Woodward's honor was among the more than 30 awards presented at the event to recognize exceptional projects and programs across 17 categories. The 2007 awards included several new ones, such as a Green Award and the Editors' Choice Award. Introduced by the magazine's editors, the Editors' Choice Award recognizes a project that is "best in show." That honor went to Avenue 26 Master Plan, submitted by AMCAL Multi-Housing, W.O.R.K.S., and the Foundation for Affordable Housing.

"The Avenue 26 project in East Los Angeles demonstrated the immense challenges and opportunities inherent in creating successful workforce housing development. This project could not be more deserving," Mogharabi said.

Percival Vaz, president of AMCAL Multi-Housing, was clearly surprised by the award. The Editors' Choice Award was his third win of the evening. Avenue 26 Master Plan also received two Project of the Year Grand Awards, in the categories of Best Reuse of Land and Mixed-Income.

Other multiple winners included Forest City Residential Group with a Project of the Year Grand Award in Senior Housing, a Grand Award in Marketing and Advertising, and a Merit Award in Military Housing; as well as Opus Northwest, which collected a Project of the Year Grand Award in the Mid-Rise category and a Project of the Year Merit Award in the High-Rise category.

This year's winners were chosen by a group of industry judges: Daniel Ashtary, a principal of Torti Gallas and Partners in Silver Spring, Md.; KC Dutton, a senior associate at Ehrenkrantz Eckstut & Kuhn Architects in Washington, D.C.; Christopher Finlay, managing principal of MissionResidential in Vienna, Va.; Julie Smith, president of Bozzuto Management Co. in Greenbelt, Md.; Dave Woodward, CEO and managing partner of Laramar Communities in Greenwood Village, Colo.; and the editors of MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE magazine: Boyce Thompson, John McManus, Shabnam Mogharabi, Chris Wood, and Rachel Z. Azoff.

For more information on Executive of the Year Dave Woodward, please see the cover story "Mr. Fix It" from the October 2007 issue. All other winners can be seen in the pages of the November 2007 issue of the magazine. A complete list of winners from the 2007 MFE Awards is below.

Special Recognitions & Awards

Executive of the Year - Dave Woodward, CEO and managing partner, Laramar Communities
For more information: Contact Dave Woodward at 303-991-6535 or dwoodward@laramar.com

Editors' Choice Award - Avenue 26 Master Plan, Los Angeles; AMCAL Multi-Housing, W.O.R.K.S., and Foundation for Affordable Housing
For more information: Contact Jay Ross at 818-706-0694 x128 or Jay@AmcalHousing.com


Grand Award Winners

Project of the Year: High-Rise - Viridian, Nashville, Tenn.; R.J. Griffin & Co.
For more information: Contact Lori Benton at 678-781-2586 or lbenton@rjgriffin.com


Project of the Year: Mid-Rise
- Harbor Square, Bainbridge Island, Wash.; Opus Northwest
For more information: Contact Bets Adair at 425-467-2703 or adair.bets@opusnw.com


Project of the Year: Low-Rise
- Avalon del Rey, Marina del Rey, Calif.; Newman Garrison Gilmour + Partners
For more information: Contact Alisa Fouse at 949-756-0818 or afouse@nggpartners.com


Project of the Year: Affordable - Dorado Senior Apartments, Buena Park, Calif.; Simpson Housing Solutions
For more information: Contact Michael Costa at 562-256-2005 or michael.costa@simpsonhousing.com


Project of the Year: Mixed-Income - Avenue 26 Master Plan, Los Angeles; AMCAL Multi-Housing, W.O.R.K.S., and Foundation for Affordable Housing
For more information: Contact Jay Ross at 818-706-0694 x128 or Jay@AmcalHousing.com


Project of the Year: Student - Charles Commons - Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Md.; Design Collective
For more information: Contact Jessica Funk at 410-685-6655 or jfunk@designcollective.com


Project of the Year: Senior - The Apartments at 1251 S. Michigan, Chicago; Forest City Residential Group
For more information: Contact Adam Siegal at 216-416-3547 or AdamSiegal@forestcity.net


Project of the Year: Military - Lewis Village, Fort Belvoir, Va.; Clark Realty Capital
For more information: Contact Gabrielle Rhodes at 703-294-4602 or gabrielle.rhodes@clarkrealty.com


Best Reuse of Land - Avenue 26 Master Plan, Los Angeles; AMCAL Multi-Housing, W.O.R.K.S., and Foundation for Affordable Housing
For more information: Contact Jay Ross at 818-706-0694 x128 or Jay@AmcalHousing.com


Project of the Year: Adaptive Reuse - Carleton Place Lofts, St. Paul, Minn.; Dominium Development and Acquisition
For more information: Contact Gary Vogel at 612-373-9121 or gvogel@bkvgroup.com


Project of the Year: Apartment Renovation - One Thousand 8th Avenue, Seattle; Bascom Northwest Ventures
For more information: Contact Brian Wirtz at 415-205-5715 or bwirtz@bascomgroup.com


Project of the Year: Green - Silverado Flats, Tucson, Ariz.; Rob Paulus Architect
For more information: Contact Robert Paulus at 520-624-9805 or rob@robpaulus.com


Marketing and Advertising - Sky55, Chicago; Forest City Residential Group
For more information: Contact Adam Siegal at 216-416-3547 or AdamSiegal@forestcity.net


Best Use of Technology - Resident Retention; Camden Property Trust
For more information: Contact Lauren Perkins at 713-354-2881 or lperkins@camdenliving.com


Community Service - Kids@Home; The Altman Cos.
For more information: Contact Siobhan Tierney at 561-237-1316 or stierney@altmancos.com


Merit Award Winners

Project of the Year: High-Rise, Merit - Hartford 21, Hartford, Conn.; Northland Investment Corp.
For more information: Contact Pam Notartomaso at 617-630-7292 or pnotartomaso@northland.com


Project of the Year: High-Rise, Merit - M Street, Seattle; Opus Northwest
For more information: Contact Bets Adair at 425-467-2703 or adair.bets@opusnw.com


Project of the Year: Low-Rise, Merit - 36sixty, Houston; The Morgan Group
For more information: Contact Karen Covington at 713-361-7269 or karenc@morgangroup.com


Project of the Year: Affordable, Merit - Delmas Park, San Jose, Calif.; The Core Cos.
For more information: Contact Dixie Baus at 408-292-7841 or dbaus@thecorecompanies.com


Project of the Year: Affordable, Merit - Martin Luther King Plaza, Philadelphia; Philadelphia Housing Authority
For more information: Contact Jan Pasek at 215-684-5728 or janthomaspasek@yahoo.com


Project of the Year: Military, Merit - Ohana Military Communities, Oahu, Hawaii; Forest City Residential Group
For more information: Contact Adam Siegal at 216-416-3547 or AdamSiegal@forestcity.net


Best Reuse of Land, Merit - element, Atlanta; Lane Co.
For more information: Contact Robert Brumfield at 404-459-6196 or rbrumfield@lanecompany.com


Best Reuse of Land, Merit - ICON, Atlanta; Poole & Poole Architecture
For more information: Contact Jos Biviano at 804-225-0215 or jbiviano@2pa.net


Project of the Year: Adaptive Reuse, Merit - Curley School Artisan Lofts, Ajo, Ariz.; International Sonoran Desert Alliance and Enterprise
For more information: Contact Kathy Cooke at 410-772-2558 or kcooke@enterprisecommunity.com


Project of the Year: Adaptive Reuse, Merit - The Crane Building, Portland, Ore.; Guardian Management
For more information: Contact Mary O'Shea at 503-802-3545 or moshea@guardian-mgmt.com


Project of the Year: Apartment Renovation, Merit - Madison Park, Anaheim, Calif.; Pacific Property Co.
For more information: Contact Caroline Custer at 949-224-2922 or ccuster@prmc.com


Project of the Year: Apartment Renovation, Merit - Legacy at Mayland, Richmond, Va.; UDR
For more Information: Contact Richard Giannotti at 804-819-4286 or rgiannotti@udrt.com


Marketing and Advertising, Merit - The New Sequoia Equities; Sequoia Equities
For more information: Contact Deb Bronson at 925-260-1361 or dbronson@sequoiaequities.com


Best Use of Technology, Merit - Springs Experience; Continental Properties Co.
For more information: Contact Michelle Luciano at 262-502-5500 or mluciano@cproperties.com


Community Service, Merit - 2007 National Gables Day; Gables Residential
For more information: Contact Jason Tripp at 770-438-5569 or jtripp@gables.com